Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-25-2013, 06:28 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Help! Asked to Shoot a Wedding

I've been doing digital photography for 5 years as a hobby. I'm at the point now where I consider myself good enough to start making the transition to part-time professional, which I only considered doing after I kept getting asked to do shoots. I never wanted or intended to shoot weddings, and every time someone has asked me, I've turned them down.

Well, today I got a call from a relative telling me about a couple she knew who was getting married, and despite not having a lot of money decided to have a wedding and wanted a photographer. She wanted to know if I could do anything for them and for how much, and told me they weren't looking to go all out but just have some good pictures to remember their day. I didn't want to commit right off the bat, so I told her I *might* be able to put a package together for them and to give me a few days to get back to her. If they were okay with the price/package, then I'd sit down with them and do shot planning, etc.

I know this is kind of working backwards, but their main concern is price. So if what I quote them is too much for them, in my mind, there's no point in even meeting or going forward. What I need help with is putting together a bare bones budget "essentials only" wedding package and some pricing suggestions.