Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-14-2013, 05:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Interesting observation (cameras)

You can feel free to call me clueless. It's OK I am still learning about cameras
and with a day job and a daughter I'm definately on the slow track.

Birthday one: We hire a popular photographer for about $600 for the birthday
pics and family photos. Having grown up with just school pics or at most k-mart
pics I considered this price extremely shocking. These were the best photos I
have ever seen and being the first ones, figured, all pics non-kmart come out like this.
I noticed she had a Canon camera but I only had point and shoot at the time so
I did not look close.

Birthday two: We hire a person with a groupon coupon for about $250. I think she
was just starting out. She was a nice person, but definately qualified as a person
with a camera and a dream. These photos were positively no better than I could
do myself with the pentax I have. And compared to the birthday one pics, they
were k-mart quality. (relatively speaking) In fact, I considered them "shockingly horrible",
and for sure no better than I could do.

Birthday three: We hire (I'm separated kinda) the first person, $600.
This time I look at her camera closer (and also she does a lot of post pic processing which
I already knew). It's a Canon D something (my eyes old). But the lens is maybe 5 or
6 inches in diameter. Huge.

Anyway, I was just writing a story. A camera and a dream is nice, except for your daughter's birthday pics.
Then its better to throw out some coin.

08-14-2013, 06:05 AM   #2
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Didn't you know? Everyone with a camera or a cell phone is now a photographer.

I like that old Clint Eastwood line about "knowing your limitations". That can also go for knowing your camera's limitations.