Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
08-24-2013, 09:53 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
So You Want a Studio?

Almost to the day, I posted this one year ago.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/general-photography-industry/196906-build...-business.html

Now, one year later I am closing my little downtown studio and moving on to do some traveling and much needed chores around home that have been neglected for the past year. If anyone is interested in their own studio, maybe I can give them some reflections on what having your own studio is like.

First, let me explain that I am not a Pro shooter, I am retired and not dependent on studio income, and on top of that I'm busy with other duties so only had the open hours of Tuesday/Thursday afternoons from 1-5 pm...or by appointment anytime, day or night. I did no advertising, and dealt strictly by word of mouth. Profit? I sure as hell didn't make any, so you better do more than I did if that is your goal!

*The setting was near perfect, the furnishings were excellent and it was warm and comfortable inside, very friendly open atmosphere, and everyone commented on that. I think that is important.

*Ordinances (stupid ordinances!) did not allow outside signs, so this was a big negative, although I did cover my windows with photos that could easily be seen from the road and did have a nice door sign etc. Make sure you can have a sign......preferably a nice large neon type that will draw attention night and day.

*Expenses ran about $600 a month including insurance and utilities, which is pretty cheap. The lower the better, you will need every dime you can make if you are going to try to make a profit. I think my total expenses including furnishings was somewhere around $12K for the year.