Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
10-20-2013, 11:47 PM   #1
Veteran Member

How much influence does Sony have on Ricoh

Years ago i was a copier repair technician. At that time my company dealt with such brands as Canon, Konica, Minolta, Ricoh, Kodak, Samsung and Sharp. Xerox were our competitors.
I recall many of the Ricoh and Konica Copiers using the some of same parts and a couple had the same designs. i always figured they were connected somehow Like Canon and HP used same part numbers. Later in the mid 90's Konica bought out Eastman Kodak and took over control of the Color Copier production. A few more years later and Konica acquired Minolta. Then of course as everyone knows Sony bought out Konica.
After learning that Sony makes the Sensors for some, if not all Ricoh Pentax DSLRs, i was reminded of those old copier repair days and i wonder Just how much influence or connection does Sony have with Ricoh today.

10-21-2013, 06:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Like autos..... many suppliers service more than one car maker, and some parts are similar or the same. I doubt this has a huge influence on design or corporate direction, because there is almost always more than one option available. Sony sensors put it in a good position, but it is obvious it does not lead to market control or they would be the only camera out there.

Regards!
10-21-2013, 07:24 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by OldNoob Quote
After learning that Sony makes the Sensors for some, if not all Ricoh Pentax DSLRs, i was reminded of those old copier repair days and i wonder Just how much influence or connection does Sony have with Ricoh today.
I'm more curious to know how much influence Ricoh has over Sony!! Pentax did a fine job in helping Sony tune their sensors.
10-21-2013, 08:07 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter