Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-21-2014, 06:51 PM   #1

Photography Qualification, do I need one to further my career?

Hi all,

I have been a self thought photographer for a number of years now, have my own small business Marisa Gangemi Photography, and just recently got a short term job as a school photographer, BUT I was recently talking to a friend who just finished an advanced diploma in Photography and he recommended I get a photography qualification if I want to take my career any further. I completed an Industrial Design Degree in 2012 and I am currently job hunting and not keen on doing full time study again, and financially can't afford it. I am looking into doing a few short courses instead. On the flip side though I have heard from other photographers that doing a course can be a waste of time and money as some institutions charge too much for what they offer and don't deliver on what is promised.

I just would like to know what you guys think, any suggestions? do I need a qualification to be considered professional?

Last edited by MRRiley; 01-23-2014 at 06:16 AM. Reason: deleted URL in post body
01-21-2014, 07:07 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
A good portfolio is the most important thing. An industrial design degree should satisfy most people that you know which end is up :-)
01-21-2014, 08:30 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Study sales / marketing. Assuming you have adequate photographic skills, that's what you need to be $uccessfull.
01-21-2014, 08:41 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums