Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
09-21-2014, 05:39 AM - 6 Likes   #1

Photos: Albums
The Photokina and the future of Pentax, a newcomer's point of view

I am quite new to Pentax: I switched when the K-3 appeared, leaving Canon and a range that didn't satisfy my needs. I guess I still have quite a 'fresh' point on view about what is going on. Besides, I have never been a 'fanboy' of any brand.

Ok so there have been loads of reactions after the Photokina, many negative. For my part, I was really worried about Pentax, but I think they chosed the right direction and there is hope. I add my personal timeline, as it can help newcomers to make a choice:

I wanted to upgrade from my Canon 550D, being quite unhappy about a number of things (colors quality and permanent blown highlights, entry-level lenses poorly constructed etc). Unfortunately, the Canon range was hopeless: slightly better Rebel cameras (nothing that justifies an upgrade), an APS-C flagship even older than my 550 (2009!!), and a full-frame, with a decent sensor in an entry-level, limited plastic body. Nikon seemed better (7100), Fuji not yet at DSLR-level. After checking every single review of about everything on the market, I chosed Pentax and the K5-IIs.

(BTW, any critic on a Canon camera on the forums ends up on an infuriating flood of 'But you just don't know how to use it', making really honest reviews few and far between - I just hate this type of community. PentaxForums appears to be surprisingly mature and unbiased, not hiding the flaws under the fanboy carpet. That's quite exceptional!).