Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2014, 05:46 AM   #1
Forum Member

Question about watermarks and other things

Hi everyone. I am new to watermarking and everything else in some way related to any kind of professional photography.

Anyways, heres the situation. I recently started doing volunteer work for a lodge in southern Chile, which I found though an organization called workaway.com. Anyways, i've been doing work for them, in exchange for lodging and food. I was recently asked to take some photos of one of the trips they offered, along with other things around the lodge. After I took the pictures, I edited them, and then watermarked them because I knew they were being uploaded publicly. I haven't ever done that before, but it seemed sensible, and I had also never uploaded a ton of stuff publically as well. When the lodge owner saw, he said it was fine, but then later said that he wanted me to remove them. He said he might want to use them on a flyer or brochure, and said that if the watermark was there, it would look like he took them off a stockphoto site without paying. I understood this to a point, not wanting to have a watermark on something you are using, but I didnt get the rest of it, If it was a stockphoto site, it would most likely have something covering the image. Anyways, I wanted to ask people who knew more than me, before I go and remove all my watermarks, what I should do. He said that we could just enter an agreement where he would acknowledgee me somewhere on the sites and things that are displaying my pictures, and he would also point people in my direction if they asked about the pictures.

Anyways, any advice, comments, or recommendations would be great, Im very new to this side of photography.

thanks!

Charles

09-26-2014, 06:00 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I understand the lodge owners concern. If I saw an advertising photo with a watermark I would assume it was "stolen" off the internet.