Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2015, 03:18 PM   #1
Inactive Account

help with website

Does anyone have any advice on starting a website? My situation is I'm trying to start a local photography business and am looking into using photocrati or fotomerchant. Has anyone used either of these? or have any better advice?

I'm definitely a non-techie. Any help is greatly appreciated!
TLS

01-13-2015, 03:29 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Don't know these two. Zenfolio is pretty straght-forward. I'm not a techie either and I managed to set one up in a couple of hours, including purchasing a domain name.
01-13-2015, 03:57 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have not heard of them. But, If you have budget, then you can try smugmug.com (basic plan costs around $40 per year) which offers customizable website in addition to offering cloud storage for pictures.
01-13-2015, 04:07 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by TLS Quote
Does anyone have any advice on starting a website? My situation is I'm trying to start a local photography business and am looking into using photocrati or fotomerchant. Has anyone used either of these? or have any better advice?
I'm not familiar with those two sites. There are so many these days.
I've been a Smugmug user for over a decade and think they are pretty darn excellent. Zenfolio is also very good. Smugmug is worth trying for a free 30 trial. If you end up a subscriber use this code and we both will become billionaires.

I think it is very important for you to develop a list of requirements you need to have fulfilled by any online photo hosting service. That way you can compare your priorities and scores for each function offered by competing sites.