Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-30-2015, 02:16 PM   #1

Am I missing something

Hello friends. I'm a long time photographer who over the past year and a half have dedicated myself to the goal of becoming a full time photographer and hopefully quit my usual job some day. Over the past year specifically I have made incremental steps to market myself.

-First was a business cards
-then a facebook business page.
-after that I designed a logo for myself
-next came a full fledged website through zenfolio
-My site has a blog page and I don't use it enough

The problem is despite my online presence and obvious skill I am have never been called by a stranger asking for my services. Heck I can't even get friends or most of my relatives to make an appointment. I can get close though. Many say they have a time or season they want to shot for like fall or spring, but they never get back with me. Of all the money I have spent the last time I had a paying gig was last year. This is really discouraging. I live in a market saturated by photographers. I seem to always be missing opportunities left and right. My goal is to make an income through weddings, senior pictures, and freelance work.

But am I not aggressive enough? I'm already a very outgoing and likeable guy. What else do I need to do? Send my portfolio to local magazines? Give cards to bridal shops? Mail out business cards? Photograph little league teams, school pictures? And how do I do it? That is contact people and businesses. I just need some tips that's all. I'm ready to work my but off, get burned, an even lose few more dollars. But I won't spend another grand on a lens that isn't going to be in use.

Currently I am trying to get some search engine opptomization on my site as well as regularly post on my blog about reviews and tips. I have redidgned my cards and picked away I want to be marketed.

08-30-2015, 02:33 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian