Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2016, 11:09 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Finding your image on a commercial website ..

I am an amateur, so this is not a huge issue , but I wonder how the professionals handle this:

I posted a picture of a bee on here 6 months ago, and on Flickr and it turned up today at number 9 in this list without proper accreditation:

http://www.thepoke.co.uk/2016/09/13/10-observations-insects-arachnids/

What should have happened before they used my image , and what can be done if it was commercially important and I wanted accreditation or removal ?
(This one doesn't matter, but others might)

What is even more amazing, is that with the immense size of the internet, I spotted it the day it was published !

Thanks for your collective experience

Ian.

Last edited by Ian.morgan; 09-13-2016 at 11:21 PM.
09-13-2016, 11:17 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I'd bill them - but using an agency that takes care of such matters. It's not just an opinion. Ive been there. Businesses trying to get away with stuff like this is just nasty.

QuoteOriginally posted by Ian.morgan Quote
What is even more amazing, is that with the immense size of the internet, I spotted it the day it was published !
Pretty spooky.
09-13-2016, 11:17 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you had given up of your "all rights protected" status on your pictures all you can do is enjoy them! In case there should be reference to the photographer and/or the website where it was taken from then you can ask them to put those info but nothing further. In case you hadn't given away any of your copyrights then you can do a lot...
09-13-2016, 11:37 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
On Flickr its listed as 'all rights reserved' .
In here, I'm not sure what the rules are.
I guess the weak point is that I shared it with friends on Facebook, but only friends.