Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
10-03-2016, 03:41 PM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Tips on going from amateur to professional (advertising)

So about a year or so ago I started shooting local wrestling and getting free entry. That has let me to a few paid gigs as if late. So I'm now looking to take a more aggressive approach to classifying my photography as a professional/paid service.
I have all the basics ready business cards, social media pages and a digital and physical portfolio of my work. I already have the mind set to not work for free. Unless I'm doing a portfolio trade. Now I'm just ready to take the next step.

I just at a bit of a loss in how to get away from amateur photography and enter my name in the professional realm.
This would be mainly for portrait and event shooting.

Last edited by malinku; 10-03-2016 at 04:10 PM.
10-03-2016, 06:40 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

Get to shooting. Find models that are starting out and offer to shoot them for free for 30 days. Go to an acting school and offer to do head shots for free for 30 days. Always tell people there is a time limit on the free work. Every model you shoot gets put on social media with tags for the location, person, equipment... everything. You need to be busy and people need to know you are busy. You need content. All of those models and actors need to keep updated portfolios so starting a relationship with them when they are starting out helps you in the long run. Most of them will get married and need a wedding photographer. Models, actors, & musicians are all people who need good images.