Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
05-11-2018, 03:31 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Print Pricing

I recently submitted some prints into a local photography competition and have been contacted by a member of the public who'd like to buy one. I'm after some guidance as what percentage over printing costs is considered fair and reasonable for both the buyer and myself.

This will be a one off as the buyer has a personal connection to the image subject and I'm an amateur. I was thinking cost plus a carton.

Thoughts?

05-11-2018, 04:56 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
How big is the print?

What would you be willing to pay for a similar print?

Regards

Chris
05-11-2018, 05:09 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Pentaxian

My printer has suggested the following base guideline: multiply your material cost (printing and framing) by three - 1/3 will cover your costs, 1/3 pays for your work, and the last 1/3 is for investment (future printing/framing, gear).
05-11-2018, 05:31 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by sergeremy Quote
My printer has suggested the following base guideline: multiply your material cost (printing and framing) by three - 1/3 will cover your costs, 1/3 pays for your work, and the last 1/3 is for investment (future printing/framing, gear).
This is good advice. The print would be large, so 'cost and a carton' isn't far off if I regard the last 1/3 as being unwarranted being a once off. For this print, for me it works out to be 2x material cost.

05-11-2018, 10:41 AM - 2 Likes   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jawsy Quote
I'm after some guidance as what percentage over printing costs is considered fair and reasonable for both the buyer and myself.
I was thinking cost plus a carton.
QuoteOriginally posted by sergeremy Quote