Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-17-2020, 08:22 PM   #1

Value of photos?

Hopefully this is the right place to post this question.

So, here's the situation...
1. I'm not a professional.
2. My wife directs the basketball games for live TV.
3. I'm there for fun but... If there's a no-show, I'm on one of the TV cameras.
4. I get a press pass since I'm with the TV crew.

With that said, the University's "Director of Marketing and Communications" came up to me carrying a Canon SLR with what looked like an 18-55 kit lens (he was sitting in the stands). "Hey, if you get anything good, we might buy them from you..."

So, as an amateur, I've never sold a photo and have never seriuosly thought about selling photos. Personally, I'd assume give them all rights except resale rights (I'd retain ownership). But I have no idea what the value of my photos are. I'm there for fun & experience but if I could make a little extra money...

Anyway, thoughts? Here's last week's games.

RSU Basketball - Feb 8, 2020 | Flickr

02-18-2020, 04:26 PM   #2

if you are using their equipment then the photos would belong to them. If you use your equipment you should have a written agreement about ownership, copyright and use as any freelance photographer would do. You would also ask for credit line on any usage.
02-18-2020, 04:59 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Sure, why not, take what money they'll give you. I can't say what the going rate is. Some thoughts on your sports images. Do you custom color balance the camera with a white card under the stadium's lighting before you begin taking your pictures?