Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-16-2021, 01:16 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Meeting Galen Rowell....

I met Galen Rowell once at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, DC. They were having an exhibit of his work.

As a young news photographer, I asked him some questions, but they were technical (what camera, what film, etc). He was obviously disappointed in me for not asking about the PICTURES.

I think back on that and make sure, to this day, always to ask a photographer WHY they took a picture.

I swore that, if I ever got the chance, he would be told how he influenced me.....unfortunately, Galen Rowell was killed in a plane crash before I could do that...but his lesson lives on.

Galen Rowell - Wikipedia

Lets all keep this in mind as we work our way, with Pentax, towards a better K3III

05-16-2021, 02:52 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
So true...

The request I always make of those I meed whose work has influenced me is "may I assist for you at some point?"...so far always results in bemused expression and a vague response.

Steve
05-16-2021, 03:16 PM   #3
Pentaxian

interesting photographer, I really get an Ansel Adams like vibe prom his pictures.
05-16-2021, 04:43 PM   #4

QuoteOriginally posted by rlmartindale Quote
I met Galen Rowell once at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, DC. They were having an exhibit of his work.

As a young news photographer, I asked him some questions, but they were technical (what camera, what film, etc). He was obviously disappointed in me for not asking about the PICTURES.

I think back on that and make sure, to this day, always to ask a photographer WHY they took a picture.

I swore that, if I ever got the chance, he would be told how he influenced me.....unfortunately, Galen Rowell was killed in a plane crash before I could do that...but his lesson lives on.

Galen Rowell - Wikipedia