Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 318 Likes Search this Thread
05-31-2022, 07:45 PM   #136

I'm no expert. I'm just re-collecting my Spotmatic bag.

My brother is a serious photographer though. Astronomy & landscapes. DSLR even now -- no cell phone or tablet need apply.

05-31-2022, 08:29 PM   #137
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by bogwalker Quote
Totally agree. If you think all photography is looking the same (which I disagree with), there's a lot of room to make your own style, so go for it.

Regarding the proliferation of smartphone cameras, the average consumer has always gone for the point-and-shoot, that's nothing new. Smartphones have gobbled up the cheap end of the camera market, leaving mid and high level DSLR, and some mirrorless, but the cheap mirrorless I had (very portable) is no longer sold.

DSLR cameras are definitely not automating things to death. Sure, you can put it on auto and forget it if you want, but everything is available if you want it. Manual focus at the flip of a switch. When I got my K-70 last year I read through the whole Bourque manual and the user manual, I was just amazed at how many features and controls are available, so much more than the old days of my Canon AE-1. You easily have 10x the controls available today compared to what most of us grew up on. Try to think of any other device you can buy that lets you control things to that level of detail. Any other device. I'm waiting.
I see the AI in cameras as taking away the control of the photographer. DO we really want the camera to make the decision? I'll play Devil's Advocate and say driverless cars will be doing the same by taking away the control of how we navigate the roadways.
05-31-2022, 11:44 PM   #138

QuoteOriginally posted by Jeff Quote
Why?

Why will it be the end?