Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-06-2009, 10:28 AM   #1
Inactive Account

How much should I charge?

An age old question that's probably been addressed on this forum a bazillion times, but I'm new to the forum (and a limited amount of time I can spend on it since I'm on break at work) so I'll cut to the chase ...

I'm an advanced amateur with good skills and knowledge, but no real professional experience. I was asked by a marketing director of a label manufacturing company to shoot a food item for one of their product pitches. The photo could end up on the product's packaging on super market shelves across the globe She asked me how much I'd charge for the shoot. She'd be there to help & direct, but I'd be the shooter, use all my own equipment including lighting, at my location (no travel expenses) and I would post everything myself (although she's extremely proficient in Photoshop and might want to 'tweak' things for the final medium).

There are not a lot of pro photogs in our area to ask - and the few working pros in the area I know of are not exactly forthcoming with newbie competition so I'm kind of on my own here.

I was thinking $50 an hour since I'm a newbie. It would probably guarantee me the opportunity. I'm guessing the shoot will be 1 - 2 hours setup, 3 hours shooting, 3 hours post (will shoot JPG+RAW). So that'd be around $400 total. Even as an amateur, that seems cheap. But is it reasonable?

02-06-2009, 11:35 AM   #2
Ari
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums