Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-11-2009, 12:56 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Earnings

I know it's a touchy subject but I really want some realistic figures on what people are earning each year with their photography businesses and a bit of break down, and your costs too if your don't mind.

Even if it's part time.

I'm on 19 so I'm just starting out with paid work. I've done fair bit of work with companies in exchange for things which is always a fun & different approach.

So far I've probably got about £4000 in equipment (£1700 on macbook pro)
I'd say I earned maybe £1000 in odd jobs last year which for a first year part-time isn't too bad.

Band Promos, Portraits, Card Sales etc

I'm hoping this year to maybe get it up 10x that to £10,000

02-11-2009, 01:49 PM   #2
Veteran Member

You've done better than me (but you've put a lot more work into it I can tell). I've sold a print and a calandar for a total of about $30 US profit and my equip. value is on par with yours, but I'm trying to get into selling landscapes which is a hyper-saturated market around here... I need to start taking pictures of things people need pictures of (like you've done).

Based on what I see around at local galleries etc., I'm pretty sure I can sell some photos, but I need to make the initial outlay of getting some framed prints and then showing them somewhere...

Good luck reaching and exceeding your goal for this year! Looking at your site I'd say you're well on your way (but I bet it's a tough market right now). Very professional looking site by the way.
02-11-2009, 02:02 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks yeah its professional looking made with bigfolio, I just need some paying clients now, I'm thinking of puting a promotion on at college called best friends where I do a shoot at a low price of best friends and then they buy prints etc and hopefully it'll lead to some more paid work from word of mouth.