Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2009, 05:26 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I am thinking of tking my photography more seriously... but what if...?

Working in Corporate America has it's perks... it pays the bills, but I feel like I am constantly looking over my shoulder lately. (I work for Wachovia/Wells-Fargo)

My website company has it's perks, I can release my creative side and get some play money but dealing with people/clients is starting to wear on my.

The only thing that relaxes me and excites me all at the same time is photography. It is even more instant gratification than building a site. Here is my dilema, well I have a few dilemas actually.

1. I am scared that one day photography will begin to feel like work and I will not enjoy it like I do now.

2. As I am growing as a photographer my styles and interests have changed, how am I supposed to organize what it is that I am doing and liking and make money from it.

Starting my web company was easy, I already had clients before I even went incorporated. How do I break into the photography world where there seems to be so many out there.

I guess what I want to know, if anyone is willing to tell me, where do I go from here?

05-12-2009, 05:41 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Very few kinds of photography pay well and often, especially today. Basically most of the better paying ones involve working with and photographing people.... and dealing with the idiosyncrasies of human nature. Unless it architecture/product based image work or a similar niche market that you can carve out. I may be wrong, but that's what I've seen. Perhaps someone else can offer some thoughts?

The market is becoming saturated in many areas. I'd suggest do it part time and see how it goes. Probably not what you wanted to hear, but I'd rather be honest on that Jay...

Regards,
Marc
05-12-2009, 05:42 PM   #3
Damn Brit