Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-01-2009, 07:16 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Family Portrait Gig

After carrying my small portfolio around with me to show family and friends, others inevitably got a chance to view it as well. I was recently offered a gig to do portraits/family portraits/ candids for a portion of a day. I have never done a hired shoot. They are aware that I am not a professional and that I have not conducted a shoot like this before. With an agreement that expectations are loose and that it would be an experiment on my part, they asked how much I would charge.

the money question.....sigh

how much should I charge?

here is what I know

Ill would probably spend 2- 2.5 hours taking photos
there are 5 family members
They want individual portraits and family shots
They will likely want about 15-20 good prints
for the prints they would like 3 16X20" (which I can get done for $3 each my own cost)
and 12-17ish prints from 8x11 or smaller (under $2 per print)

I honestly have no idea what to charge for my skill/time/cost to print.

any help out there???

07-01-2009, 07:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by iceemn360 Quote
After carrying my small portfolio around with me to show family and friends, others inevitably got a chance to view it as well. I was recently offered a gig to do portraits/family portraits/ candids for a portion of a day. I have never done a hired shoot. They are aware that I am not a professional and that I have not conducted a shoot like this before. With an agreement that expectations are loose and that it would be an experiment on my part, they asked how much I would charge.

the money question.....sigh

how much should I charge?

here is what I know

Ill would probably spend 2- 2.5 hours taking photos
there are 5 family members
They want individual portraits and family shots
They will likely want about 15-20 good prints