Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-24-2009, 10:16 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Release questions

I am asking this for a friend; I am not a professional, and I know there have been threads on the subject, but I didn't want to hijack them.

If you hire a wedding photographer, it is probably within that photog's rights to post the pics on his website as advertising, correct? I don't know what type of contract was signed, but I assume it was a standard release.

Is it normal to sign a release saying that the photographer could then sell a photo to another company for their advertising? That is apparently what happened here - a photo is being used on a limo company's site.

Also, do both parties have to sign the contract? In this case, the bride did not.

If the photographer cannot produce the contract, is my friend within her rights to demand the photos be taken down?

Sorry about the general nature of the questions, but if you can help get me started that would be great.

09-24-2009, 10:25 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I believe if there was no contract, the pictures should not be distributed. If there was a contract, look what's in there.
09-24-2009, 10:30 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
There was a contract (I don't have it yet), but the bride didn't sign it - only the groom.

At this point, I guess I'm only asking what's "normal." I fully expect that the photographer can use them for his own website, but to sell them to another company seems odd.
09-25-2009, 09:15 AM   #4
Veteran Member

The photographer has all the copyrights, but he can't sell any pictures without a release signed by all the people on the pictures. There are some exceptions for editorial/educational purpose, but the generally accepted practice is to have releases signed by everybody involved. Having the right to use the pictures for his publicity is not the same thing as having the right to sell them to third parties.

09-25-2009, 09:20 AM   #5