Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2010, 04:14 PM   #1
Forum Member

Magazine cover compensation

I've got someone from a magazine wanting to use an image from this set as their cover image for a new magazine:

Head - a set on Flickr

I wondering how much to charge. This new magazine will be going to advertising agencies around the world and should be fairly high profile. The company is based out of Montreal.

I have no experience with this kind of stuff, so i thought I'd ask you guys. Also, as a side note, should I insist on sending the images only after payment is received, but send watermarked versions to prove they do exist?

Thanks,

Eric

02-07-2010, 10:22 PM   #2
Veteran Member

If it's a legitimate magazine, they would laugh at you if you said you would only send hi-res once payment was recieved. That's not how mags work. You send lo-res, they put it in layout, they like and ask for hi-res, you send that, they say ok we're going ot use it and typically tell you what they'll pay for it, then you send an invoice or they send a contract.

Your first questio nshould have been, "Ok, what do you pay for a cover?" Then from there you can negotiate higher if you want, but most magazine don't stray too far from whatever they typically pay. You have a be a big deal to get them to pay you more than they pay everyone else. Covers can range from $500 to thousands, depending on the magazine readership size, distribution and what kind of advertisers they have. Start by find out what they usually pay, and how big their reader base is.
02-07-2010, 10:34 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Okay thanks for the reply I'm new to this and this is definitely not what i do professionally.

Thanks for the help!
02-07-2010, 11:16 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wow, that's a pretty cool mask. No surprise that they want to use it for a cover. Congrats! How'd you make it?

02-08-2010, 12:10 AM   #5