Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2010, 12:26 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Compensation for website use?

A friend of mine is taking studying music business, and as part of her course she's being assigned to "manage" the image of a local artist (Tina Marie Williams). So she recruited me to take photos at a show. Discussing details with the prof (who's in charge of the whole thing) prior to the show, he inquired as to what sort of compensation I require for their intended use (display on a website).

I've never done this kind of thing before. What's reasonable to be asking per image? I'd like to at least cover the cost of the fresh set of lithiums I supplied the K-x with for the shoot.

An early crop of samples is here, if the quality of the work has any bearing on the matter: sample gallery. I've been told they like the results a lot so far.

There's a good chance they'll be hiring me again in the future, so I'm looking at this as a definite potential opportunity to start building a revenue base from my photography.

02-25-2010, 12:51 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
That's really up to you, I've supplied shots for friends before and just taked a watermark in the corner with my website address so people can contact me. I've also done jobs specific for website use where I was paid a flat fee for the shoot.

If you're looking at is as an opportunity to spread your name around, you might just want to go with a watermark.

Here's a site that I work with, I supply him with images and in turn they splatter my name on the page

CellBlock D - Sideways till the tires are gone!
02-25-2010, 01:06 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
If this is your first time doing this and you'd like to do it more, call a couple other local photographers and ask them what they'd charge. Base your rate on what you think is fair.
02-25-2010, 01:37 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster