Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-13-2010, 01:26 PM   #1

Security and Police

I am an avid photographer who happens to work as a security guard for a living. Photography is a basicly a big bag of hurt for us. I work as a security guard in an office complex of a major oil company. Sure, the building has interesting architecture, so I can se why people would want to photograph it. At the same time though, if someone got their hands on the documents in this building, they could sell them for many thousands of dollars. We therefore tend to aproach photographers with a sense of scepticism. The matter of the fact is that extensive use of photographic equipment is used when trying to gain access to buildings. The pictures are used to plan ways of getting in, documenting CCTV locations, card readers, security rutines, etc.

Despite all this though I often shake my head at the many stories I hear concerning security guards and police. Many security guards simply have no idea what they are doing and think that all photographers are their enemy. The way we do it where I work is to first study their movements using CCTV. Are they systematicly taking pictures of things such as CCTV locations or are the pictures more genereal. By studying the situation, a security guard will be able to avoid 90% of all false acusations, and even if you do approach someone, they seem to forget that people are innocent until proven guilty and should therefore be treated as such. They don't seem to realise that today, exterior picture of things such as our office complex can quite easily be aquired through sources like google earth and search engines on the internet. Why shouldn't they be allowed to take pictures of the building, as long as they don't start trespassing onto private company property.