Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
02-02-2012, 08:13 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by chrisjoy Quote
First post, hopefully it won't be the last...

As someone that's used the 5d2 extensively for stills and video over the last 3 years, this is the backup camera I've been waiting for. If the K01 has the features listed and no major jello issues I will be buying one as a "B" cam to my 5d2. I'm new to Pentax and I really wanted to get a K5 for the shake reduction and fabulous DR, but I shoot stills and video so full manual control over exposure and 1080p/24 is a must. If this camera allows for that - PLUS - focus peaking and a mic input this could set the bar for APS-C cameras - depending on video quality. AF capability while shooting is no big deal since you generally have to lock down focus to keep it from hunting while shooting, and there's the noise lenses generate while focusing. It still ticks all the video boxes for a hybrid still/video camera.

I was considering the Fuji Xpro1, but for the price with just one lens I could easily get another 5d2 body and it appears that video is an afterthought from reading the manual. I have a Nex5n that I really like, but it lacks physical buttons, a hotshoe, a mic input, and any sort of stabilization outside of one pretty good 18-55mm kit lens. The Nex7 ticks a few more boxes than the 5n, but it still misses the mark with that damn Sony hotshoe that requires a $189 adapter to use every other hotshoe mounted device on the planet, which drives the price up. Grrrr... The Nex7 has no stabilization either.