Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2012, 06:38 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Why I will upgrade to the K-01 (Not that you care)

I'm no pro, but I do love to take photos. Last time I went on a vacation (too long ago), I opted to take my program plus and the K55 along with me. A totally no-frills set up. And I had a blast. It was much lighter than my K20d, and the photos I got out of the adventure were just as satisfying as my digital. Ever since then, I've looked at my K20d differently. It has been coming out with me less. Not because I don't like taking photos, but because it's just too big and unwieldy. Now, when I go out, it's like I'm going to take photos. It's not something that is always with me, like it should be. I started shooting more with my humble program plus.

But in the end I realized something: film is expensive! I don't know how to develop my own photos, and I'm not good enough to fire off 3 rolls of keepers. Digital brings real value to me in the free exposure department, and flexibility in post-processing.

I really don't have any use for zooms, because I'm pretty simple with my photography. Between my FA 50 and my DA 15, I'm pretty much set. The DA 15 lets me crop if I need to and the 50, while a little tight, is so damn flexible the only lens I could ever see myself replacing it with is the FA 43 (if I fall into a pile of money). I think most of my other lenses will go (except for the kit, which is my insurance lens).