Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-28-2012, 03:51 PM   #1
Forum Member

Is the K-01 for me? Advice please.

I'm considering buying a K-01 but want to make sure I'm doing the right thing.

The backstory: I got into photography about 2 years ago. Learned the basics on a vintage K1000 that my grandfather gave me. Since then I've acquired a number of Pentax film bodies and a half dozen lenses. I've also picked up a medium format Zenza Bronica ETRs with a full kit of lenses. I really love shooting vintage film cameras but I think I've reached the tipping point. All this developing and printing is just too much money! So I think I want to buy a Pentax DSLR or K-01. The camera that I use for work (I'm a geologist) is a Sony NEX 5N. Nice camera, great IQ, and I've gotten used to using the LCD screen to compose (no EVF). REALLY expensive lenses, lack of E-mount lenses on the market, and no shutter in the body (forgive my ignorance) keep me from going for Sony NEX as a personal camera.

Budget is under $1k. IQ is paramount over design, features and even view finder. Size is a bit of an issue. I like the K-01 design and feature set. The 40mm pancake seems like a really cool lens.

So here are my questions:

1) Should my 6 vintage Pentax A lenses keep me brand loyal to Pentax?

2) IQ about the same between K5 and K-01? I've read that this is the case. For real?

3) Is it hard to focus vintage Pentax lenses on a K-01, or any Pentax DSLR for that matter?

4) Should I wait for the Kr replacement?

Thanks!

04-28-2012, 03:59 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums