Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-11-2012, 09:27 AM   #1

Viewfinder

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Does anyone know if pentax have any future intentions of making a viewfider for the k 01, just an accessory that can be put on to the hotshoe?

Im no expert but how much would it cost, time and money, to make a viewfinder that could be easily attached and removed, and had the same view as the LCD screen?

Just so one could use manual and autofocus lenses from the comfort of a viewfinder.

Iv seen a few subsitutes but nothing amazing

any info appreciated

11-11-2012, 09:36 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
No plans have been revealed that I have heard of. The O-GPS1 shows they have the capability of passing data through the hot shoe pins, but I can't imagine anything inexpensive going there to use as a virtual VF. It's a nice thought certainly, but I definitely will not place any hopes on it.
11-11-2012, 09:50 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Unless they have already provided for it in the hardware I think the only possibility is to feed it with a short cable from the video out socket. The bandwidth needed for a video signal is far higher than the few kbps needed to convey the flash and GPS communication.

It could probably get power from the hotshoe thereby avoiding the need for a separate battery for it but I'm not so sure about that either as for the O-GPS1 they
used a separate battery in the unit rather than take power from the camera.

There are some third party viewfinders that would work as all you need is for it to have a standard video input and that it is hot shoe mountable.
11-11-2012, 10:13 AM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster