Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-06-2012, 10:03 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K-01; my first shot at it

I figured I'd share my thoughts as well, seeing as so many others helped me with writing about their experiences. This wasn't the camera I was going to buy, until it was $315. How could I lose giving it a try? It took a few days of getting use too, but I have to say I am impressed.

First, the build quality feels great. As an architect, I can appreciate the minimalist design. I can't quite describe it, but it's just kind of like a jewel box of a camera. Go hold a Canon or Nikon consumer dslr with it's plastic feeling body and lenses and then feel this camera, night and day. And I like the fact that it doesn't look like a camera. I am not trying to convince anyone else I am a photographer. This design also has flaws though. Your hand isn't a rectangle, so holding it isn't as easy as my K-r. I've gotten use to it over the week and am sure now I can get along with it, but I wish the grip was a little bigger and the shutter button more angled. The design changes your shooting grip. And I love the shutter sound compared to the clunk of the K-r. With the 40mm on it, I can put this in a small belt bag or coat pocket and take it anywhere (and the 40mm xs is nicer than I was expecting). Yes, it's not as serious a camera as something like a K-5, but it's a fun camera. You just want to hold it and shoot, like what I hear about the Q.