Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-22-2012, 09:53 PM   #1
Forum Member

New to Pentax, Just got K-o1:Some questions

Hello all,

My just gave me an early xmas gift in the form of a K-o1 with 40mm lens! I am fairly new to Pentax, a total noob to Pentax digital cameras, but not new to photography (I learned on an Olympus OM-1 35mm film camera). From what little time I have had shooting with this camera, I am thoroughly impressed. At the current price point, this is easily the single best MILC on the market, in my opinion. I know others have rated it at somewhat 'good' I think it is an outstanding camera which keeps the Pentax ethos of no-frills (Do I really need built in wi-fi to take a good photo? No, so Pentax eliminated this). It is what I expect from Pentax to provide a no BS serious shooter. Compared to the Olympus PENs and the Nikon m4.3, I think this is hands down the best thing out there. I hope the rumors of Pentax dumping the line are false. In any case, I had some questions that I hope some of you may be able to assist with:

--Use of M42 lenses: Use K adapter? I saw some things about the green button locking exposure on the thread regarding the 1.01 FW update. Perhaps my confusion on this issue stems from lacking a full grasp of what exactly stop-down metering actually is. I understand that, due to the sensor size being somewhat smaller than the 35mm frame for which the older MF lenses were designed, that the resulting image will look as though it were shot with a noticeably longer focal length lens. However, what exactly is the issue with exposure locking?