Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-05-2013, 07:05 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
To be a Pentax k-01 head or not to be?

Hello!

I have now a very very very big question on my mind.

To be a Pentax K-01 user or not to be.
So the story is this. I am a poor multimedia design artist and tend to get into some photo shoots and video shoots.
I wasn;t able to afford a DSLR for a long time and as in my introduction and hello thread revealed that I used to barrow various DSLRs ranging from Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Lumix etc.
And now due to some projects I would really need to have a cam and to my misfortune resources of borrowing has shrank. But destiny seems to offer me a chance to get my own cam.

However my funds are not that big. And now since Pentax K-01 is half the price it used to be, it became more and more attractive solution considering its features offerings against the competition.

Could Pentax K-01 be considered a good primary camera body?
And here is what it would be used for:

I am an amateur photographer and I don't think I would take a risk to ruin someone's wedding, however I would have some studio and outside photo shoots of models etc.
I am also thinking to use this camera for video production, not holywood level movies, but would use it as a main camera for multimedia projects. And to be fair interchangeable lens video cameras are way out of my luxury reach and since I also do photo shoots DSLR kind camera with videography features is this all round solution at the moment.

This question of mine is for people who already has K-01 and could tell it from the first hand experience, would it perform considerably well as a main body for somewhat professional level projects. They would be commercial projects. Would K-01 be this inspirational tool to be used for production?