Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2013, 10:51 AM   #1

Can I get onscreen exposure preview?

I'm new to Pentax and have a question I can't see an answer to in the manual.

On my last live-view camera (a Canon G1 X) I shot in Manual mode almost all the time. I was used to using the histogram and screen to provide an exposure preview. I.e. if I opened the lens in bright light the screen would blow and the histogram would shift. I would use histogram and blinkies (via a hack) to expose to the right as far as I could.

On my K-01 the histogram seems not to meter the exposure, but instead simply reflects the live-view. The Live view does not provide a preview of the exposure. I.e. if I change the aperture the screen brightness stays the same.

I want the screen to show me what I'm going to capture and I want the histogram to respond as I change settings.

I have RTFM'd. I shoot Nikon, Hassy, Canon, Leica so I'd like to think I'm not a complete idiot when it comes to cameras. Thanks in advance, I'm sure it's 'obvious' but I'm missing it.

01-07-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pg 191 in the manual
Select Rec Mode 3 then choose Instant Review

That will turn on and off the blinkies. The K-01 Yellow Manual and Quick Guide are now available from the Pentax USA web site:

Downloads & Literature - PENTAX Imaging USA

Manual (PDF 6.2MB)

Quick Guide (PDF 2.5MB)
01-07-2013, 11:09 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Docrwm Quote
Pg 191 in the manual
Select Rec Mode 3 then choose Instant Review

That will turn on and off the blinkies. The K-01 Yellow Manual and Quick Guide are now available from the Pentax USA web site:

Downloads & Literature - PENTAX Imaging USA

Manual (PDF 6.2MB)

Quick Guide (PDF 2.5MB)