Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2013, 02:55 AM   #1

Manual Lens

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie on Pentax forum as well as in DSLR world. I ordered a yellow K-01 with DA 40mm XS and was waiting for its delivery (yay!)

However I just came across a good deal of an M 50mm f1.7 lens. Didn't plan to buy any further lens/accessories yet as I'm still a beginner but it's quite cheap and its review seems to be extremely positive so I'd like to ask if:
- it is that necessary to have this lens while I already have the 40mm f2.8 pancake lens?
- *A lens will be much more suitable for newbie than *M?

Some advice and I'd appreciate it loads

Ps. Why the *bumblebee K-01 with pancake lens is so expensive and hard to find in the UK? Honestly look at US price and I feel miserable already

01-19-2013, 08:20 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I wouldn't bother. What you have sounds great. The old 50mm is probably very soft at F1.7/2 whereas new lenses seem to be quite good at max aperture. All the pros say get lots of experience with a prime lens like your 40mm before adding to your arsenal. Cheers!
01-19-2013, 08:27 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hmm, if I only had two lenses, it wouldn't be a 40mm and a 50mm, as they are so close in focal length. M50/1.7s are as fairly common; if you wait, there will be other good deals later.

That said, the M50/1.7 is a nice lens - small and sharp, with great color. Having one auto-everything lens and one manual-everything lens could be a useful learning tool. If you are planning to do more with manual lenses, the M50 is a good starting point (or in other words, a "gateway drug to Lens Buying Addiction" ). It depends on what you want to do with your photography.