Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2013, 10:55 PM   #1

Does this flashing yellow and red have something to do with exposure?

I just updated my firmware to v1.2. For whatever reason I'm now getting flashing yellow grain (on dark areas) and flashing solid red (on the brights) and I don't think I was before the update. As a disclaimer, I'm a complete newbie with photography in general and the K-01 in particular.
So I'm wondering this: did something change when I updated, or did I unknowingly make the change? And, can I turn this off until I understand what it means and how to use it?

02-02-2013, 11:03 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by rkymtnrider Quote
I just updated my firmware to v1.2. For whatever reason I'm now getting flashing yellow grain (on dark areas) and flashing solid red (on the brights) and I don't think I was before the update. As a disclaimer, I'm a complete newbie with photography in general and the K-01 in particular.
So I'm wondering this: did something change when I updated, or did I unknowingly make the change? And, can I turn this off until I understand what it means and how to use it?
The firmware update probably reset a setting that was previously disabling this. The setting is called "show bright and dark areas", I believe.

And yes, it does have something to do with exposure: yellow areas are too dark while read areas are too bright and if you see any, you'll want to adjust your exposure so that they go away (or at least so that one of them goes away), or try bracketing.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers: