Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-13-2013, 08:51 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Has anyone used M42 lenses to shoot video?

Hello everyone,
Has anyone used M42 lenses (Taks) on the K-01 to shoot video? How difficult is it ? Good results or bad?

02-13-2013, 03:23 PM - 1 Like   #2

I made this with a SMC Super Takumar 50mm 1.4. I'm quite new to making video, but was happy how this came out.

02-13-2013, 06:24 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Zach_manchester, cool video. I like the way you used depth of focus in the video and the creepy music. Did you change the aperture during the video? I can't quite put my finger on it, but something about your video is still bugging me!
02-13-2013, 07:56 PM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by zach_manchester Quote
I made this with a SMC Super Takumar 50mm 1.4. I'm quite new to making video, but was happy how this came out.

Insects - YouTube
I actually rather liked your video. Interesting mood and atmosphere. Music really sells it too. Gotta go out and do some vids with my K-01 one of these days.

02-13-2013, 09:08 PM   #5

QuoteOriginally posted by zach_manchester Quote

Insects - YouTube

A q abt your lens. Are all Super Takumar's m42 mounts? If so, what's a good mount type for a 50mm f1.4 or 55mm f1.8 m42 lens? From what I read, there appear to be two types - one that permits infinity focus, and one that does not. If I am correct, the latter is much easier to remove from the camera and can be treated as part of the lens.

If the lens is mainly for inside/portrait use, would it be reasonable to assume that it's better to get the non-infinity m42 mount? Also will AF work with these cheapish adapters?
02-13-2013, 09:20 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by harioharima Quote
A q abt your lens. Are all Super Takumar's m42 mounts?