Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2013, 09:29 PM - 1 Like   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I bought a K-01 recently, with the two kit zooms. Also have a Pentax-A 28mm f/2.8, and a Pentax-A 50mm f/1.4... both of which work perfectly with their aperture rings on A, using manual focus of course.

The kit zooms are surprisingly sharp, stopped down a little, and very good value for the money. Their AF is just fine, more than fast enough for me, indoors or out.

I haven't tried 'Tracking AF' yet... I use spot focus. If I had to take pictures of kids in motion, i'd get them outdoors in sunlight. Otherwise, indoors, just wait til they sit still for a moment. But it will also take a continuous burst of JPGs and something will work out.

Have had no problems at all with auto focus.

I'm an amateur photographer, retired now. Took pictures as part of my job for years. I can tell you, the K-01 is a better camera than we will ever need. I have two rough tests for image quality -- a picture of a grass lawn ( are the blades of grass sharp and distinct? No smearing?) And a picture with a lot of clear blue sky (any speckles? Noise?). The K-01 is just great, best digital camera I've ever used. Amazon today, US $478 with the two kit zooms, $300 body.

02-27-2013, 10:05 PM   #17
Veteran Member

I am sure I am going to continue using both cameras on my -M collection.
The ist ds focus confirmation is consistent and accurate.
istds Pentax -M 1:2.8 40mm, hand held
https://www.box.com/s/1e2b95f5a04cee8d6073
https://www.box.com/s/209edf19081385021670

Getting used to the K-01 focus peaking
K-01 SMC Pentax-DA 1:3.5~5.6 18~55mm tripod
https://www.box.com/s/btfbihpnabjisxs98ymp
K-01 SMC Pentax 1:2 55mm tripod (I don't put up kid's shots, anyway they won't sit still anymore.)
https://www.box.com/s/vjjcvtg8n9cz26hcfis3
02-28-2013, 10:10 AM   #18
Veteran Member

Original Poster