Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-10-2013, 07:41 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Wireless flash?

So i just bought myself the K-01 and I am really loving the camera, at first I was missing the front wheel but with a little bit of fiddeling in the menus that problem has been solved.

I really didn't care much for checking the wireless capabilities of this camera, I just took wireless flash for granted considering my K10D does this. Well, bit of a mistake on my hand but not a big deal. Anyhow, I have a 540 that I really like to use off camera, the thing itself is bigger than ma K-01. So I wish to fire this wireless without losing P-TTL functionality, Is this possible? I have been googling my ass off trying to find out but I am no expert in these wireless radio transmitters for flashes, so some help would be appreciated here, but if P-TTL functionality is impossible I do favour a manual solution over putting a 360 on top of my camera as a control, that would be a last resort.

Any ideas, anyone?

(I tried searching the forums but no information I found seemed to target this specific problem)

03-10-2013, 08:44 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Wow, I just a got my K-01 and assumed that it had wireless P-TTL. I've read every review and many forum thread before purchasing, and I never saw that. I just checked the manual and no mention of wireless. It shows an off-camera flash connected with a wire hooked up through the hot shoe. I also went through every setup parameter, and there's nothing to enable wireless.

Bummer. I have a Metz 50 that can act as a slave P-TTL, but not as a master, so I can't use it on camera to drive wireless P-TTL.

Can you drive wireless P-TTL through a Pentax flash like an AF540? or does the camera need to support? I wonder if Pentax needed the exposure sensors on the dslr's to support wireless P-TTL. That doesn't make much sense, since they have enough sensors to support on-camera P-TTL.