Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-10-2013, 12:14 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Any K-01 owners use it to replace your DSLR?

Haven't had the time to be active here in quite a while, but I'm still shooting as often as I can with my K-7. With the deal that was posted today I finally caved and ordered a K-01, and I'm wondering if any of you found yourselves selling off your DSLR body once getting the K-01?

I really love the ergo's of the K-7, and because of that wanted to pick up a K-5 when I had the chance to upgrade, but I don't see the K-5 dropping to $250 anytime soon so the same IQ in a bit different package was too much to pass up. Anyway, I'm a grad student, so the budget is tight, so I'm hoping that after using the K-01 for a bit, I'll find that the K-01 isn't handicapped much if at all by the lack of a viewfinder, and that I'll be able to sell off the K-7 while it's still worth something now, and then get a K-5 or K-30 or whatever else is out there when I graduate and get my finances in order.

That being said, I'm just wondering if anyone else had a similar experience, or really disagrees that I'd be able to do that

I am really looking forward to focus peaking, since my #1 most-used lens is a Pentax-M 50/1.7, but I'm a bit worried that my photographing automotive events will suffer without having a viewfinder, for shots like these (taken this past weekend):

It's not something I do too often, since I'm usually driving in the events if I'm not too busy to go, but it is something I enjoy. So, secondary question: anyone have experience taking action/sports photos with the K-01?

04-10-2013, 12:21 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member