Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-05-2015, 07:36 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Just purchased a K-01

I purchased a K -01 from a forum member here and am anxiously waiting for it show up. I know lots of people have trashed this camera which probably makes me want it even more. I have always been one to root for the underdog, I have been shooting with a Pentax for the last 30 years after all. When I first saw the K-01 I thought what a great idea. I can shoot all the current DA and legacy lens on smaller mirrorless camera. There is no other camera like it. I felt so alone. I really just want something smaller that I can take on walks downtown that will not weigh my neck down like the K3 does. I love my K3 but boy does that thing get heavy after awhile. From the photos I have seen I know this camera is more than capable of delivering the results I want. I am sure there will be a learning curve like all new cameras have. Most likely I will use my DA 35 2.4 or DA 18-135 to start out, the DA 35 seems perfect since it is so light. I think I will invest in a view finder cover to help some in the bright light. I have not seen too many options out there. If anyone has suggestions I am more than happy to hear them. I it will be fun to try something different than the traditional DSLR.

Michael

04-05-2015, 07:53 PM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

The K-01 is a great boxy camera with excellent IQ. I love the boxy shape which is great and replace a tripod in many situations. The K-01 works nicely with a pancake lens (DA15, DA40). In many situations, I use the DA18-135mm which works well with the K-01. The DA35mm should be a great choice IMHO.

One drawback is the lack of WR (for me). I have ample experience with foul weather; in very bad weather, I prefer to use my K-3 or even my older K-7.

I think that my own experience adds and supports your decision. Go the K-01...