Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 55 Likes Search this Thread
10-30-2018, 09:56 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Forum Member

Pentax K-01 failure? No one knows it exists.

So I'm new here,just got a K-01 used for $125 and I love it. Uses all my old lenses...

Lack of advertising makes it impossible to buy here in the US.

Ricoh HQ is 3 miles from my business, local "proshop" doesn't carry Pentax!

BestBuy no Pentax, Walmart, Target...nothing.

Don't get me wrong I love that no one has a Pentax, I hate run of the mill stuff,

But for Pentax to survive they gotta get their cameras in stores so people can see and touch them..

I went from Pentax film directly to Nikon digital because no one carries Pentax.

I'm a hobbyist, and we make up the majority.

Most people think Pentax is out of business, and in a sense they are.

I love my K-01, and everyone thinks it's a film camera because..."they still make cameras?"

10-30-2018, 09:59 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Singing to the choir - Welcome Aboard!
10-30-2018, 10:09 AM - 1 Like   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Welcome aboard and I hope you enjoy the new camera!

QuoteOriginally posted by AsahiGlass Quote
But for Pentax to survive they gotta get their cameras in stores so people can see and touch them..
This isn't their strategy, I'm afraid. They seem fairly committed to major photo stores and online only in the US. As big of a shame as it is not to see the brand in stores, it does make sense given the target audience of Pentax and limited mainstream market share. The good news is that you get unrivaled support here on the forum

Also, the K-01 has been discontinued for about 5 years now, and the K-mount mirrorless line has been killed off, so definitely not surprising if you can't find much mention of it

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)