Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-10-2010, 04:45 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Living in Canada

So im currently entertaining the idea of moving to Canada for 1-2 yrs to work/experience the world a bit with my fiance/wife (6 weeks to go!) and this forum has more canadians than any other im on, so i guess its a good place to ask some questions

From the info I've been reading so far it seems like Toronto would be the city of choice for us (I'm a Software Engineer/Developer so would seem to be best option for work...). Anyone want to share some comments on living in Toronto?

And whats the Software industry like there? anyone know?

05-10-2010, 04:50 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

I can't speak directly to the part of your post about living in Canada; but my impression is that the quality of life there is at least as good as it is in the U.S.
As to the getting married part: Have you considered going fishing instead?
05-10-2010, 06:24 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Canada rocks and Toronto rocks double. The most multicultural city in the world and amazing affordable food from every one of the 130 or so cultures. It's a city with a slower-than-usual vibe when compared to the USA cities I've been in.

I love the downtown life but am not so big on suburbs. But many Torontonians must do long commutes to live where it is affordable and still be near jobs. That kind of life sucks.

There are great parks, beaches and stuff you might not expect of a big city. You will have to put up with the brutal weather however, which ranges from -30 to +30 Celsius. And it can vary by over 30 degrees in one day.

Lots of software jobs for sure. Have you also considered Vancouver? It's like Toronto but with mountains and ocean added.

QuoteOriginally posted by Parallax Quote
my impression is that the quality of life there is at least as good as it is in the U.S.
Understatement of the week.