Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-02-2011, 08:04 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Give me a crash course on paypal/shipping stuff

Hey all,

So I'm selling stuff on craigslist for the first time and I've got a buyer who wants me to ship the item to them (I'm in coastal BC; they're in central BC). They're the first buyer (who's not lowballing me anyways) so I'd like to sell it to this guy, but the thing is, I've no experience at all working with paypal/shipping stuff.

So, few questions:

1) What information do I have to give them for them to pay me via paypal? Just the corresponding email?

2) I should only ship insured, yes? Is there a particular shipping brand I should stick with (UPS/FEDex, or is canada post okay too?)

3) What sort of scams (both paypal and shipping related) should I watch out for?

Very much thanks to all!

03-02-2011, 08:26 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
1) All you have to give is your email address you have registered with paypal.

2) It's kind of up to you and/or the buyer if you ship insured or not. Most people say that once the item is shipped it is out of your control and the buyer assumes responsibility. So if you want to be nice you can insure it or the buyer can request you insure it. I would try USPS first. They tend to be the fastest and most reliable. FedEx is good all around (but not as good as USPS) and in my opinion UPS is GARBAGE!!!! Try and avoid them at all cost. They mess up orders all the time and will do everything they can to not assume responsibility. I just realized you are not in the US so USPS will not work for you. How about the Canada mail service (Royal Mail or some thing like that)? I just think regular mail is better than most 3rd party businesses.

3) Can't think of particular scams but just to be safe do not send the product until you receive and VERIFY payment and only send to the buyers address he has registerd with Paypal.