Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2007, 03:41 AM   #1

Good all round developer

Hei Folks,
Going to be doing some black and white developing after a few years out of the game, and just wondering what a good all round developer is.

I should point out, I have some film in my bulk loader but I have no idea whether this film is 100 or 400 ASA so the plan is to shoot and develop a roll at each speed and see what results I get.

With that in mind I'm after a good general purpose developer - and since I'm a uni student, cheap would be nice as well lol.
Cheers
Paul

11-20-2007, 04:47 AM   #2
Inactive Account

One letter, a piece of punctuation and two numerals:

Kodak D-76

Can't go wrong, with most films (save TMax, but I'd stay away from what is, technically speaking, "horribly shite.")

Even with our inflated prices in Aus, it's still only six bucks for a Yank gallon's (3.8 litres) worth of dev, and that's from an inner city retailer in Brisbane. Hell, if you can get the raw chems, you could mix the formula yourself.

As bulletproof as Tri-X (Tri-X and D-76 are the gin and vermouth of the BW film world. Bogie and Bacall. Thommo and Lillee. You get the idea.) I'd call it the "standard" developer - good grain (it's not Xtol, nor is it Rodinal) and therefore good sharpness, still awesome for pushing, good contrast. It's been around so long, and so many people have used it, there's more than enough info out there on the 'net for pretty much every kind of film, and ever iteration each film, out there.

Six bucks. Can't go wrong.

There's an excellent photostore in WA (can't remember what it's called) that should have it.

And, as a side note, Ilford's ID-11 is pretty much a clone of D-76 (might be a few tiny changes, but Ilford lists the exact same dev times for ID-11 as D-76 for its film, and most reports confirm this.)