Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-29-2011, 08:39 AM   #1
Inactive Account

question about time lapse imagery

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

my name is yanis ertmanis. i am a visual artist who likes to explore the possibilities of technology and the visual experience.

i want to do time lapse of clouds over a busy street corner over three days and in the space of five minutes.
what kind of timer exists that could handle this kind of time frame.
and how the heck is it done.
also . . .
as weird as it sounds, i would also like to record audio of exactly the same time frame
i am aware that the audio would become a single note . . . but pieced together i'm curious to find what those notes sound like all joined together.

07-29-2011, 09:10 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What kind of camera are you using? Do you want to babysit it?

3 full 24 hour days, 5 minute intervals, is 864 shots. You can buy remotes that are capable of this such as..

Timer Remote Shutter For Pentax K100D K10D K200D K20D | eBay

I doubt that (with Pentax) you'll be able to capture stills with sound so you would need a second recording device to capture the sound with each frame.

07-29-2011, 10:44 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

You don't say what kind of camera you'll use. The K-7 and K-5 have a built-in interval timer but it can only do 99 shots. To use an external timer like the one Jeff linked to, the camera needs a jack for a remote release. For Pentax DSLRs, that rules out the K2000, K-m, K-x and K-r. Those cameras would need some kind of infrared release.