Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-22-2011, 06:50 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is it wrong to ask...?

This is a strange question to ask, but let me give some background... I am no professional (Proven by all the topics I post on the "Q&A" Section) But I do like to do some family portraits, senior portraits, or baby photos for friends and family. Its not something I do for a living, but I do put it out as a "business" when people ask. Anyway, before my mother retired, one of the teachers she worked with had a daughter who is a photographer. She is quite known around town, and does some really amazing work. I do not know her personally, but I am friends with her mother as well. I have remarked several times about how beautiful her photographs are, and we have chatted a bit, but other than that, she wouldnt notice me on the street if we passed eachother.
I have always wanted to know how she creates some of her photos, what type of lenses she uses, technique, post processing, etc.. But I feel its rather tacky to ask. We take the same type of photos, but hers are quite something to look at. Now I know with practice comes talent, but helpful hints dont hurt either.

So just wondering, if a "competitor" asked you about your photos, how you created them, etc, would you find it flattering, or tacky?

*I should say, I dont want to "copy" off of her at all, I just would like to learn some new ideas for improving my work.

08-22-2011, 07:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
No not all i know of many pro photographers who share knowledge not only to inform but to form future working relationships especially when a helping hand is needed. Successful working photographers network really well, they understand "there is really nothing new in photography, just new photographers"
network
08-22-2011, 07:19 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by SlickYamaha Quote