Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-10-2012, 01:18 PM   #1
Banned

Levitating Light Bulb (Wireless Power Transfer + Magnetic Levitation)

QuoteQuote:
This is a project I've been working on for about 6 months now next to my regular studies. It is a levitating light bulb. This project came to life when i saw Jeff Lieberman's implementation of it a few months before starting. I was fascinated and started research on building my own, reading many academic papers and spending long nights reading up on pretty much every project which included wireless power transfer or magnetic leviation. What I found is that there are many many existing projects of both, but only a few have combined both these technologies. Once you have both working it's really just a matter of overlaying them. The high frequency magnetic field generated from the wireless power transfer circuit does not effect the leviation aspect of the build.

Of course I had many failed attempts and have a small box full of wasted components and boards I've soldered. Stable leviation is not easy. Instead of boring you with the failed attempts, instead I'll tell you what worked. For the levitation system I ended up slightly modifying an existing circuit built by Eric Taylor. My configuration is slightly different and am using a 3 pin linear hall effect sensor from RS components to act as the feedback mechanism. I opted for a 1.325mV/g sensor (the smallest sesnsitivity i could find), as the magnetic flux it was sensing was maxing out the reading on others. If you are looking to build one, this circuit is simple and works with only slight modification depending on the input sensor you have. The drive coil I'm using is 300 metres (1kg) of 20awg wire. It draws about 0.2 - 0.25A when stable at 12V. It doesn't seem to heat up over time, unless the light is not levitating, in which maximum (0.8A) current is driven through the coil.