Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-24-2008, 07:35 AM   #1

Help: buying gear, a guide for Canadians

Hi!

I'm from Ottawa, ON and I'm new to Canada. Well, it feels like Canadians are in a disadvantage compared to US customers... it feels like the prices are lower in the US, there are more rebates, no GST and PST. So maybe someone can summarize a short guide for Canadians on how to buy cheap with regard to the above mentioned issues?

1) buying from US store via internet. Shipping issues? GST? PST? Warranty? Rebates?
2) buying from Canadian store via internet. PST?
3) buying locally. Any advantages at all?

Thanks!!!!
Michael.

03-24-2008, 07:39 AM   #2
Veteran Member

1. never any shipping issues, GST + PST and Duty on all the stuff i've bought even on used items :@, it adds up! pentax has an international warranty so should be alright, rebates don't qualify

2. i think if you buy from outfits in alberta, don't remember which ones, no PST

3. buying locally, advantage is if something is wrong, you can go back and change it
03-24-2008, 07:44 AM   #3
tdb

Original Poster
Thanks for the quick reply... It turns out to be as bad for Canadians as it looked... ;( Oh my! Any ways to beat that? Any?
03-24-2008, 07:49 AM   #4
Veteran Member

get a friend in the states

have him buy the product (and apply for any rebates they might have)

some places dont charge shipping within the states.

then have him package it and send it to you (shipping is usualy 5 times less than any of the bigger companies charge you) and declare it... "used photo gear" or some junk like that, so you dont pay duty.

ta-da

even if you DONT do that, buying from B&H is cheaper than any place in canada

Henry's selling the 16-50*'s for 1000 dollars??~!~~ F*THAT!

03-24-2008, 08:01 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by tdb Quote
Hi!