Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2014, 01:44 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I was just unfriended on Facebook... (Not photography related, I promise ;)

A friend that I've known for over 15 years posted an image as her profile picture. Another person commented how she loved the image and would like to print it to hang on her wall. "Print away!" was the response.

As a photographer, I felt compelled to casually mention copyright ownership with the following comment:

"Hey Jaimie, I'm not trying to be a stickler or anything, but are you sure you have the ability to give away the image like that? What I mean by this is, do you own the image (as in it is not *of* you, but taken *by* you)?

Assuming the worst, there's going to be a pretty upset photographer "

Not just unfriended, but completely deleted and blocked (can't find her anymore).

I'm not immature enough to be upset about it (how are people still stuck in high school? We're nearing 30 dammit!).

I know I have a history of being told my approach can be rather....um....abrupt, but that?

Just flabbergasted is all...

-Heie

I know General Talk isn't the place for photography stuff, but I didn't know where else to put this little anecdote

07-19-2014, 01:58 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Facebook, 'nuff said. The sane posts on FB get lost amidst mutual admiration, trolls, or glurge (yes, it's a word).

If this person is a real-life friend, call or email them off of FB.
07-19-2014, 02:06 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Heie, in my experience, people who are doing the wrong thing usually don't like to be told about it, and there is a strong "shoot the messenger" bent to a lot of folks. Certainly if you are going to criticize someone for the actions, do so in private. In a case like this, I try to decide if I'd rather be friends with the person or rather correct the injustice. With some people, you can't have both.
07-19-2014, 02:08 PM   #4