Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-31-2015, 08:15 PM   #1
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wire Welders???

I need a light duty welder. I have some experience with a stick welder....have made tool box frames for my truck, some large steel gates etc. I'm not a very good welder, but I'm a really good grinder..they all look great.

Anyone have any experience with a light duty 110volt wire welder? What can you tell me? Mostly I will use it for 1/8" thick or less square steel tubing.

Regards & thanks in advance!

05-31-2015, 08:19 PM   #2
Pentaxian

What are you wanting to do/make? If I don't know I know the people to ask.

---------- Post added 05-31-15 at 10:33 PM ----------

06-01-2015, 03:44 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I assume by wire welder you mean a MIG welder? (the gun with the wire automatically fed through)

While i'm not a welder (only really done a bit of oxy) people I know who weld a lot have been extremely clear on never buying a gasless welder. Apparently without the shielding gas even a MIG or TIG will be no better than an Arc welder (Stick welder)
06-01-2015, 06:07 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi Rupert,
As you will be expert already with gas torch, you could consider an oxy-acetylene set for hobby work.
It is good for steel fusion welding, brazing and silver soldering, and also good in the shop for heating rusted nuts etc.

I prefer brazing with the flux coated rods and I can make neat joints in tubing and bike frames etc.
The geezer advantage of oxy: it is slower, forgiving of a bit of shaky hands, and easier to see what is going on in the puddle.
Here is a joint on 1/2 inch tube an oak/steel security door I made a few years ago.
(Taken with the -M 1:4 100mm Dental Macro on the K-01 with the AF080C)

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-01  Photo 
06-01-2015, 09:15 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster