Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-17-2021, 07:11 PM - 2 Likes   #2536
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by bogwalker Quote
Nice. I'm a nerdy engineer, so I also have a spreadsheet of all my fill-ups (computerized since 2006, on paper before that).
I didn't even know you could still buy a 1.2 liter engine car in the U.S!
I ran some experiments on my commute to see how temperature affected mpg. I had a Scangauge that plugged into the OBD-II port, so I could get the mpg for the trip (my new car displays that on the screen, but it wasn't a thing in 2006). Nothing like driving in 0'F weather without using the heater, just to get a new datapoint in my graph
I used to use a bluetooth OBDII dongle and smartphone app on my Metro to do the same thing. It was amazing how much real-time data you could get from a car made in 1996! Also addicting, to keep track of all those data points to try and see how you could get just a little bit more efficiency out of it. I've calmed down a bit since then. The Mirage doesn't have anything colorful or animated to monitor efficiency like many other cars now, but it does have a basic cumulative MPG display on the trip meter. It's only off by about 5% compared to the real mileage-to-gas-pump calculations (some other car's efficiency displays are wildly optimistic). I still enjoy trying to keep that number up on road trips.

My mileage on summer trips is always better than in the winter, in spite of the air conditioning. Something to do with the density of the air? I always get more mileage at higher elevations, too, even with the lower-octane gas they sell there.

QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote
That's pretty impressive specs. I bet I cost more than that per mile on my bicycle!
Oh, given how much you can spend on a bike, I believe it!