Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-03-2018, 01:35 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Top fuel acceleration put into perspective

A bunch of us guys were discussing the subject of G forces felt during some of the Blue Angels performances. This led to the question of G forces endured by the astronauts during blast off into space. As things like this usually go, I explored the subject a little more and came up with this information on this site.... about G forces felt by Top Fuel Dragsters.

I'm no mechanical genius, but if this information is correct, it's absolutely MIND BLOWING!

Don Long Builds The Old Master

06-03-2018, 03:06 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I am pretty certain that most if not all those facts are correct.
The one I think is funny is the top RPMs is listed at 9500 RPM. Like that is a high number. If I am not mistaken, the F1 cars when they were running the V10 and 12's were turning somewhere around 12 to 13 thousand RPMs when wide open. The one time I got to see F1 cars in person live is the only time I have ever bought ear plugs at a race track.
06-03-2018, 04:27 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by bigdavephoto Quote
The one I think is funny is the top RPMs is listed at 9500 RPM. Like that is a high number. If I am not mistaken, the F1 cars when they were running the V10 and 12's were turning somewhere around 12 to 13 thousand RPMs when wide open. The one time I got to see F1 cars in person live is the only time I have ever bought ear plugs at a race track.

Dave, I read somewhere recently where the F1 cars have actually achieved 22,000 RPM!
06-03-2018, 05:14 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Dewman Quote
Dave, I read somewhere recently where the F1 cars have actually achieved 22,000 RPM!
I believe that that is correct.
My 1982 750 Honda super-sport red-lined at 10k rpm.

06-03-2018, 05:48 PM   #5
Pentaxian